These things we see on facebook….

We have all seen them, thought provoking little passages to be passed on and shared along with funny kittens and babies pulling faces, I guess they are the most popular random postings on face book. some I must confess make me shudder… You know the ones, share this if you have the’ bestest’ mummy/ daughter/husband or your dad/mum/ poodle is looking down from heaven… (and are logged into face book obviously)

At the moment how ever is one that I actually did share, because it made me think..

Some thoughts as we enter the festive Christmas season…It is important to remember that not everyone is surrounded by large wonderful families. Some of us have problems during the holidays and some of us are overcome with great sadness when we remember the loved ones who are not with us. And many people have no one to spend these times with and are besieged by loneliness. We all need caring, loving thoughts right now. If I don’t see your name I will understand. May I ask my friends, …wherever you might be, to kindly copy, paste and post this status for one hour to give a moment of support for all those who have family problems, health struggles, job issues, worries of any kind and just need to know someone cares. Do it for all of us, for nobody is immune. I hope to see this on the walls of all my friends just for moral support. I know someone will! I did it for a friend and you can too!! (You have to copy and paste this one, NO sharing!)

Christmas was my dads favourite time of year, money was always short but he always made sure we had a lovely Christmas.

For Christmas eve and Christmas day we moved into the front room it was the only time in the year we had a fire in there, it would have cost too much to heat two rooms.. I don’t think there is anything as evocative as sitting by a roaring fire with the flickering lights on the Christmas tree casting multi coloured shadows on the wall and presents from our Aunts and Uncles under the tree.. Father Christmas always left our main presents at the end of our beds. I remember one year ‘Father Christmas’ had only just got his trousers off and one foot into bed before I had woken my brother and opened quite a few presents. he had a Scalextric and I had the most wonderful set of paints. I was caught on the stairs on the way down to get some water to begin painting..

We were quickly told that as Father Christmas was still in the area if we didn’t go back to sleep he might come back. Poor dad, we always took ages to get to sleep….

Christmas changed for ever on the Seventeenth of December 1980, the day dad died. he had slipped in the snow the week before banging his head, causing a catastrophic bleed.

The lights have never seemed quite as bright since. This year will be our thirty forth with out him with us and I still miss him as much as I did that first year. So for me, for once that little paragraph on Face book resonated with me, just as I know it will the many, many others who cannot share one more Christmas with the ones they love.

Cherish the lights, the love and the laughter because some times we are blessed with the brightest of lights that are only allowed to shine for the shortest time.

About ladyfreebird750

Mother, grandmother, carer. Eyes now open and heart aching for the many suffering from the actions of the selfish pampered few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

